Canberra’s National Press Club was abuzz recently with the announcement of the winner of the 2023 Australian Political Book of the Year. The judging panel of the ABC’s chief political correspondent, and author, Laura Tingle; Australian political journalist, and radio and television host, presenter and commentator for the ABC, Barrie Cassidy; and ANU Political Science Emeritus Professor, John Warhurst, considered that Niki Savva’s Bulldozed: Scott Morrison’s fall and Anthony Albanese’s rise met the required criteria for the award. Ms Savva’s book was chosen from a short list which included three others: Australia’s China Odyssey: From euphoria to fear by James Curran; Black Lives, White Law: Locked up and locked out in Australia by Russell Marks; and Crossing the Line by Nick McKenzie. Other books on a long list were: Dreamers and Schemers: A political history of Australia (Frank Bongiorno); The Queen Is Dead (Stan Grant); Lockdown (Chip Le Grand); Political Lives: Australian prime ministers and their biographers (Chris Wallace); The Passion of Private White (Don Watson); Trump’s Australia: How Trumpism changed Australia and the shocking consequences for us of a second term (Bruce Wolpe). The award which recognises the books that “the judges believe provide the most compelling contribution to understanding Australian political events and debates”, is sponsored by the York Park Group and Hill of Content Bookshop. More details: